Eligible Countries

1.    Legal entities established in the following countries and territories will be eligible to receive funding through Horizon 2020 grants:

  • The Member States (MS) of the European Union (EU), including their outermost regions;
    • The Overseas Countries and Territories (OCT) linked to the Member States: Anguilla, Aruba, Bermuda, British Antartic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, French Polynesia, French Southern and Antarctic Territories , Greenland, Montserrat, Netherlands Antilles (Bonaire, Curaçao, Saba, Sint Eustatius, Sint Maarten), New Caledonia, Pitcairn Islands, Saint Barthélémy, Saint Helena, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands ,Turks and Caicos Islands, Wallis and Futuna.
  • The associated countries (AC): the latest information on which countries are associated, or in the process of association to Horizon 2020 can be found in the online manual.
  • The following countries, except where this is explicitly excluded in the call text: Afghanistan, Algeria, American Samoa, Angola, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo (Democratic People’s Republic), Congo (Republic), Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea ,Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia,, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Buissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kosovo*, Kyrgyz Republic, Lao, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mongolia, Morocco,  Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine**, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Rwanda, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan,  Suriname,  Swaziland,  Syrian  Arab  Republic,  Tajikistan,  Tanzania,  Thailand, Timor-Leste,  Togo,  Tonga,  Turkmenistan,  Tuvalu,  Uganda,   Uruguay,  Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, , Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

[] indicates country to be removed from list, as and when Association Agreement comes into force.

If in the meantime one of these countries becomes associated to Horizon 2020, it will immediately be shown in the relevant on-line manual mentioned above. Note that entities from associated countries are eligible to participate according to the conditions set out in Annex C.

(* This designation is without prejudice to positions on status and is in line with UNSCR 1244/99 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence). (** This designation shall not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to the individual positions of the Member States on this issue).

2.  International European interest organisations will also be eligible to receive funding from Horizon 2020.

3. Legal entities established in countries not listed above will be eligible for funding when such funding is explicitly foreseen in the call.

4. In  addition,  legal  entities  established  in  countries  not  listed  above  and  international organisations (IOs) will be eligible for funding:

  • When funding for such participants is provided for under a bilateral scientific and technological agreement or any other arrangement between the EU and an international organisation or a third country;
  • When the Commission deems participation of the entity essential for carrying out the action funded through Horizon 2020;
  • For Prizes, any legal entity, regardless of its place of establishment, or international organisation may receive funding.